4th May 2020

The food inventions industry must be booming right now. Jumping on to the bandwagon is me too me too. So there’s this dish called gulab jamun. Literally translated, it is rose blueberry 😳 Try figuring that etymology!

Anyway, ingredients for said original version were unavailable, because of you know who, and so the gjs got made with some resourceful thinking. Made it out of all kinds of leftovers. I had some kashandu. That’s the golden milk solids left behind when you heat butter or cream to make ghee. So yeah…you won’t get it in a supermarket anywhere in the whole wide world. Back to invention. Grind Kashandu, a bit of flour, and some bread crumbs. Add a tsp of cream and a few tsps of water to this ground meal. Make a dough. It hould be crumbly. Just wet enough to shape into spheres. Roll into half inch spheres. Keep aside for 5. Fry these in low heat. They turn dark (purply) brown. Ergo jamun.

Had leftover syrup from a feast of rasagullas. Strain syrup into pan. (Don’t waste the rasagulla bits, pop into nearest mouth). Heat the syrup until it thickens to nearly one thread consistency. Now this was giving off rose water aroma (from the rasagulla flavouring) So Rose. Gulab. Tick. Switch off heat. Dunk the fried spheres into syrup. Wait till syrup soaks in. Or not. I like having it hot hot.

So today, in this summer heat, with the laburnum trees shedding leaves and turning fully yellow, I went for my 5k. I thought I was running faster than usual. Running aligned with the wind, with my qi cheering me. But nope. Slower than usual. But you know what….it was a good run. Felt just right on the inside. And that’s what counts. Here’s a 20 min no jumping cardio workout. Do what feels good. (No. Not the couch.)

Dragonfly out in the sun…butterflies all havin fun…and I’m feeling good 🙂

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close